The matique Story

In 2004, Martin Schöttler started as a freelancer under the business name “Martin Schöttler – Software Engineering”. He then worked for another company but kept his enterprise alive to continue supporting his already won customers.

Developers to the Rescue

In the beginning of 2006, the GeDiS GmbH asked for urgent support: The in-house software for their project organization and control did not make the grade any more and had to be redesigned. There was the prospect of winning a big project for the autumn. Sanitizing the software was too involved to be handled as a part-time project. Most tasks however could be done by other freelancers who at the time had already been forged into a great team. The challenge was mastered using much improvisation and the developing a dynamic project management. Many developers in the team communicated almost exclusively via the Internet.

The Result

The core members of this team stayed together and grew into an exceptionally productive group. The special software design competence helped GeDiS and then other customers to find sophisticated solutions, which enhanced the competitive advantages of their brand, saved costs through automation. The matique team takes pride in developing clean, straightforward database applications and streamlining the clients’ data and project managements.

The Future

matique applications work well for clients. Aside from saving time and costs, matique database applications make managing data easier and more productive. We established the matique UG (haftungsbeschränkt) 1 in January 2009.


1 The UG (haftungsbeschränkt) (Unternehmergesellschaft / Entrepreneurial Company) is a new type of German private limited liability company (LLC). The UG differs from the traditional LLC according to German law (GmbH) mainly through the lower capital requirement. The UG was introduced in 2008.

Die Geschichte von matique

Im Jahr 2004 startete Martin Schöttler unter der Firmierung „Martin Schöttler – Software Engineering“ als Freiberufler, fand dann eine Festanstellung, hielt aber das Unternehmen nebenberuflich aufrecht, um die zuvor gewonnenen Kunden weiter bedienen zu können.

Die Crash-Action

Anfang 2006 bat die GeDiS GmbH dringend um Unterstützung: Die proprietäre Software zur Organisation und Kontrolle ihrer Projekte genügte nicht mehr den Anforderungen und musste neu geschrieben werden. Ein Großprojekt stand für den Herbst ins Haus. Diese Aufgabe erwies sich als zu groß für eine gelegentliche Feierabendarbeit, doch der Großteil der Aufträge konnte an andere Freelancer durchgereicht werden, die zu einem großartigen Team geschmiedet wurden. Mit viel Improvisation und der Entwicklung eines dynamischen Projektmanagements, das auch EntwicklerInnen einbezieht, die fast nur über das Internet kommunizieren, konnte die Herausforderung gemeistert werden.

Das Ergebnis

Der Kern dieses Team blieb zusammen, entwickelte eine äußerst produktive Zusammenarbeit und erkannte, dass die entwickelte Kompentenz insbesondere darin besteht, mit äußerst durchdachten Lösungen GeDiS und dann auch anderen Kunden geholfen zu haben, ihr eigenes Alleinstellungsmerkmal zu entwickeln, durch Automatisierung Fixkosten zu sparen und durch saubere Datenbankanwendungen Ordnung zu schaffen. Aber die Kompetenz besteht auch darin, bei aller Konsequenz immer wieder pragmatische Wege zu gehen.

Die matique UG

Um diese Methodik weiterzuentwickeln, auf eine saubere rechtliche Grundlage zu stellen und damit den Kunden Perspektive und Kontinuität zu bieten, wurde im Oktober 2008 die Marke matique entwickelt und im Dezember 2008 die matique UG (haftungsbeschränkt) gegründet. Sie hat inzwischen, im Jahr 2010, ihre erste, erfolgreiche, Jahresbilanz veröffentlicht und weitere zufriedene Kunden gewonnen.